Marinated Salmon with Lemon Pasta

I made THE best meal a few weeks ago.  Yes, I realize that I just said weeks.  Unfortunately my life is so hectic right now that regularly cooking extravagant meals and taking the time to write about them has become a bit lower on my priorities list than, you know, trying to pass my classes and eventually get a Master’s degree.  But I’m still here, I promise!  I pass my time reading about plant biology, not bothering to pretend I know anything about fluid mechanics, highlighting every other sentence of geomorphology papers, and paying as much attention as I can muster at bi-weekly lectures.  Not to mention the sixty students for whom I am a lab instructor and the associated grading.  And my own research.  Basically my workweek is a barrel of laughs that carries over into my weekends and every bit of personal time I wish I had.  Cooking something that didn’t initially come from a box or isn’t mushroom stroganoff is now a huge deal.  But I do still have it!

Marinated Salmon with Lemony Pasta

Salmon:
2 salmon fillets
¼ cup olive oil
2-3 tablespoons soy sauce
2 green onions, chopped
2-3 cloves garlic, minced
1 inch of ginger, peeled and grated

Mix olive oil, soy sauce, onion, garlic and ginger and pour over salmon in an airtight container.  Let rest undisturbed in the fridge for about an hour.  Preheat the oven to 350⁰ F.  In an ungreased baking dish, arrange the salmon fillets and pour the marinade over them.  Bake for 15 minutes or until the salmon flakes easily.

Marinated Salmon

Pasta:
Olive oil
Juice from half a lemon
2 cloves garlic
1 tablespoon soy sauce
6 oz. egg noodles

Cook the egg noodles according to package directions.  Drain.  Meanwhile, sauté the garlic in olive oil until fragrant.  Add the cooked egg noodles and sauté for about five minutes.  Add the lemon juice and soy sauce and stir to coat.  Serve hot.

The Whole Meal

The pasta and the salmon complemented each other really nicely.  I served this with asparagus in a lemon-nutmeg sauce which fit in perfectly.  The lemon in the pasta and asparagus really enhances the flavors of the fish, which were amazing.  Next time I might opt to broil the fish, but I haven’t tested out the broiler in my oven and I am slightly afraid that it might cause an explosion or give both my roommate and me gas poisoning or something else terrible.  The oven is already a trial (it clicks and we’re not entirely sure what that means).

I wish I had more recipes to share right now, but unfortunately my camera battery was dead last time I cooked and then I ate all the leftovers before bothering to charge it (life of a student, am I right?).  I will hopefully have more to share soon, but unfortunately I give no guarantees…  I will probably be going out to eat sometime next weekend because I have a friend coming in, so if things are good enough (and I’m not feeling too awkward about whipping my camera out at a restaurant) then I can at least post some yummy photos!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Other than the clicking, does the oven operate normally? Is it a constant clicking as if it’s trying to spark one of the the top burners, or is it an intermittent clicking?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

